Reading series: Wednesday! 8pm

by

12/12/2010

Neighborhood: Other

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 15, 8:00 PM
FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

Happy Ending is located at 302 Broome Street in the Lower East Side. The phone number is 212.334.9676. www.happyendinglounge.com

ABOUT THE SERIES:

Author and Open City Founding Editor Thomas Beller founded mrbellersneighborhood.com in 2000. The site publishes stories about New York City life that follow in the tradition of Joseph Mitchell and E.B. White—slices of life, portraits of memorable characters, scandalous encounters with public decadence and heartwarming displays of civil courage. Contributors are either “professional” writers, work in a variety of jobs and write out of a passion, or a bit of both. 2009 saw the publication of Lost & Found, a veritable encyclopedia of New York stories collected from the site since 2002.

Readers on December 15th are KURT RADEMACHER, KENNETH NOLAN JULIE METZ, and TIM DOODY. With special guest reader, Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood Founder, TOM BELLER. The host is CONNOR GAUDET.

Julie Metz is the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir Perfection, which was a 2009 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection. The recipient of a MacDowell fellowship, her work has appeared in publications including The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Glamour, Redbook, Hemispheres, and websites including Wowowow.com (The Women on the Web), and of course, the amazing story site mrbellersneighborhood.com. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York, where she currently at work on a novel.

Ken Nolan was born and raised in Windsor Terrace across the street from where his father was raised. A lawyer, he has lived in Brooklyn all his life. With his wife and children, he presently lives in Bay Ridge. His work has been published in The New York Times, The Daily News, Litigation magazine where he writes the Sidebar column, and many other publications. He is working on his first novel.

Kurt Rademacher‘s work has appeared online at McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, Yankee Pot Roast, Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood, and various other websites under various other names. Two of his essays were also published in the Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood book Lost and Found: Stories from New York.

Tim Doody’s essays have appeared in The New York Times, The Brooklyn Rail and Brevity. ABC’s Nightline included him in a national list of “particularly troublesome, even dangerous, anarchists,” and Rush Limbaugh made fun of him and his last name on the air. He’s online at http://timdoody.me.

Thomas Beller is a writer and founder and co-editor of Open City magazine and mrbellersneighborhood.com. He teaches creative writing at Tulane University, and you can read his tweets at twitter.com/thomasbeller.

 

Connor Gaudet is a Brooklyn-based writer and musician passionately pursuing a life of debt and poverty. Diarist, embellisher, and non-fiction storyteller, he occasionally comes clean at thedailyhell.typepad.com

Comments
Rate Story
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

§ Leave a Reply

Other Stories You May Like

Nearby Other Stories

From Ditmars Blvd. (the Last Stop)

by

N train I’ve given you all and now I’m nothing.N train, two dollars and twenty-five cents.N train; go fuck yourself [...]

by

Some people around here watched the towers collapse from their rooftops. I didn’t even think to go up to the [...]

Monkey Bars For a Jail

by

There was always one overweight student who would sit on the seesaw and yell for someone to join. It was usually the tiniest kid

Scenes from Astoria

by

Some people around here watched the towers collapse from their rooftops. I didn’t even think to go up to the [...]

The King of New York

by

I.From a distance the crown almost looks like solid gold. But as I walk farther up 30th Avenue in Astoria, [...]